Leo joins the Zayed Future Energy Prize jury

Leonardo joined the jury of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, an annual $4 Million prize awarded to inspiring future energy innovators.
Solar panels. CC 2009.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize was established under Masdar in Abu Djhabi in 2008 to recognize and honor outstanding, innovative achievements and leadership in the global search for a sustainable energy future.

The prize is awarded on an annual basis to individuals, high schools, companies, organizations or NGOs that have made significant contributions in the global response to the future of energy.

Finalists are nominated by experts across the globe while the winners will be chosen by a jury chaired by HE Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, President of the Republic of Iceland. Other jurors include former President of the Maldives Mohammed Nasheed, South Africa’s energy minister Elizabeth Dipuo Peters, President of the UN Foundation and Better World Fund Timothy Wirth, Cherie Blair, founder of the Cherie Blair Foundation, and tennis Champion Andre Agassi.

Learn More about the Prize

Watch videos about the inspiring winners of the 2012 Zayed Future Energy Prize

Last updated April 27, 2017

Through collaborative partnerships, we support innovative projects that protect vulnerable wildlife from extinction, while restoring balance to threatened ecosystems and communities. Our work is divided into six main program areas – Wildlands Conservation, Oceans Conservation, Climate Change, Indigenous Rights, Transforming California, and Innovative Solutions.

Explore Our Programs